Hearts On a Carmel Beach

I found hearts on the beach today.

I don’t mean human hearts, although there were quite a few of them. A young Asian mother whose five-year-old and a two-year-old picked up rocks, pebbles and shells. The little one also picked up something and his mother said. “No, yucky charcoal” which he dropped and then rolled “yucky” around his mouth. Their hearts were happy

A woman came up and told us that she was married on this beach four years ago. She noticed how it had changed. I thought she may have been widowed with a broken heart, but then her husband joined her.

I noticed a man who looked like baseball great Reggie Jackson, sitting on a beach chair being interviewed by a cameraman and a sound man. Who knows where their hearts were?

The hearts I found were lying on the beach. I did not set out to find hearts. I was tired of sitting and set off on a walk. Whenever I walk I carry a bag to pick up trash I want to prevent going into the sea. Instead of trash I found hearts. John found the little silver one on the anklet. I found the rock and pebble hearts.

I do not believe in signs. But sometimes I think we see things we are meant to see if only ours eyes are open. My thoughts turned to the broken hearts of the shooting victims families in Minneapolis.

In spirit I send them the hearts I found today on Carmel River beach.

This entry was posted in Musings and Mutterings, United States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hearts On a Carmel Beach

  1. Rosanne Bane says:

    A simple, heart-warming message. Thanks!

  2. Mary Beth Chapel says:

    I love this particular blog as I found it to be so peaceful and serene and loving. I felt I was there, walking just a few steps behind you, mentally taking in all that those sweet little hearts represent.

  3. Becky says:

    Very beautiful.

  4. Jill Shipley says:

    Another beautiful and inspirational vignette by a very special woman. You’ve opened my eyes and my heart again!

  5. everyjourneytravled says:

    I appreciate receiving your sensitive reminder about the horrific loses suffered by members of our community.

     Thank you, Anne.

    Cindy 

    ________________________________

  6. Mary Donlon says:

    You have such a lovely, inspiring way to look at our world. Thanks for sharing with me!

  7. Mary Hansen says:

    That was lovely, Ann. Thank you!

  8. Lisa says:

    Thank you for the reminder that by keeping our eyes open we keep our hearts open, too. Beautiful photo and message.

  9. Maryann says:

    Ann, your writing is poetic. Thank you for opening your heart to all of us.

Leave a Reply

